Academic Development Committee Home Page

Taft College Committees Sites > Academic Development

Mission and purpose:

The Academic Development Committee is dedicated to enhancing student success and increasing persistence and completion of students through, but not limited to, tutoring, Supplemental Instruction, and counseling. supportive services. Moreover, the committee is devoted to the ongoing improvement of transfer level success by addressing new trends in the area of  academic legislation, i.e. AB705, keeping abreast of current research and best practices, and coordinating with faculty and other support professionals at Taft College in order to make effective decisions that lead to a clear pathway for  students to meet their educational,  goals.

 

Committee Membership (recommended but not limited to):

Pre-Collegiate Success Coordinator (chair)

Assessment Faculty

DSPS Faculty

Counselor

Academic Senate Member

Transfer level and below Teaching Faculty (preferably one each from English, , and math)

Administrator (non-voting member)

(non-voting member)

Classified Staff Member (non-voting member)

Student (non-voting member)

 

Committee Goals:

Ensure cohesive educational pathways for students who begin college below or at transfer level in order to help them meet their educational, goals.

  • Orientation
  1. Review orientation practices and make recommendations for students.
  • Review and discuss improvements with the committee

Discussion of plans

  1. Ideas for pilot projects
  2. Look at alternative forms of funding opportunities for academic development
  3. Review and discuss best practices
  4. Research and recommend professional development opportunities
  5. Make budget recommendations
  6. Reporting, planning, and oversight

 

Role of the Academic Development Committee Chair:

  • Create agendas based on the objectives listed
  • Facilitate meetings
  • Provide minutes for group review

 

Membership and Meeting Policies:

Quorum is based on 50% + 1 of voting membership. It is the responsibility of each member of the Academic Development committee to attend each meeting and adhere to the code of conduct.      

 

Frequency of Meetings:

The Academic Development Committee meets once per month during the Fall and Spring semesters.

 

Relationship with Other Committees:

The Academic Development Committee is a subcommittee of the Academic Senate. The Academic Development Committee may also make recommendations to other committees regarding basic skills related issues as needed.

 

Self-Evaluation:

The Academic Development Committee shall:

  • Review/evaluate their performance at the end of each academic year
  • Review/evaluate the Committee Charter at the beginning of each academic year

 

Academic Senate reviewed: 10/05/2020

Revisions approved by ADC 3/30/20

Approved October 19, 2016

Last 3 updates

Minutes and Agenda – 2021

Date Title
05/19/2021 ADC Agenda and Minutes 5/19/21
04/21/2021 Academic Development Committee April 2021
03/17/2021 ADC Agenda and Minutes 3/17/21

Members

Position Name email
Member Danielle Kerr dkerr@taftcollege.edu
Member Diane Jones djones@taftcollege.edu
Member Dr. John Eigenauer JEigenauer@taftcollege.edu
Member Dr. Windy Martinez wmartinez@taftcollege.edu
Member Janis Mendenhall jmendenhall@taftcollege.edu
Member Kamala Carlson kcarlson@taftcollege.edu
Member Lori Sundgren lsundgren@taftcollege.edu
Member Lori Travis ltravis@taftcollege.edu