Academic Policies and Procedures (AP&P) Home

Taft College Committees Sites > Academic Policies & Procedures

Academic Policies and Procedures

As a subcommittee of the Academic Senate, the AP&P committee makes recommendations to the Academic Senate and/or Curriculum and General Education Committee regarding proposed changes to policies and procedures associated with:

  • add, drop, and repeat policies
  • modification of or substitution of an academic requirement
  • unit limitations

Additionally, the AP&P reviews and makes decisions, in consultation with administration, on student petitions pertaining to:

  • add, drop, and repeat policies
  • modification of or substitution of an academic requirement
  • unit limitations
  • exceptions to student policies and procedures
  • extenuating circumstances

Meetings:

In accordance with Brown Act requirements, all meetings are open to the public with the exception of closed session agenda items.
To provide confidentiality of student information and abide by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), meetings will adjourn to closed sessions as appropriate. Closed session items will be identified on the agenda. Following closed session, the committee will reconvene in opened session and action on items discussed in the closed session will be taken in open session.

Some portions of posted minutes may be redacted to ensure compliance with FERPA.

 

Committee Members:

Position Name email Phone Office
Member Dr. Chris Chung Wee cchung@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7820
Member Dr. Leslie Minor lminor@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7871
Member Dr. Vicki Jacobi vjacobi@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7719
Member Dr. Windy Franklin-Martinez wmartinez@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7815
Member Michelle Beasley mbeasley@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7911
Member Nathan Cahoon ncahoon@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7844
Member Steve Lytle slytle@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7976
Member Tiffany Payne tipayne@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7788
Member Tony Thompson tthompson@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7740
Member Wendy Berry WBerry@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-
Co-chair Candace Duron cduron@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7934
Co-chair Severo Balason sbalson@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7810

Agenda

Date Title
05/17/2021 AP&P 05-17-21
02/22/2021 AP&P 02-22-21
01/11/2021 AP&P 01-11-21