Senate Home

Taft College > Faculty & Staff > Academic Senate
Academic Senate Logo

The Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of Taft College represents the faculty of the Taft Community College District. Our primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.

Our purpose is to represent the District’s faculty in negotiations with the Board of Trustees and in the development and implementation of all college-wide policies and procedures of interest and concern to the faculty, to strengthen the role that faculty plays in the governance processes, to participate in the process of developing the educational philosophy along with the objectives, plans, and budgets of the District and to provide a forum for the faculty to discuss, debate, and formulate formal faculty opinions and resolutions both on academic and professional matters and on other issues of concern.

Senate Committees

The Academic Senate has established committees, composed of Taft College faculty, administrators, staff and students. Our operational committees are responsible for performing the academic and professional duties and responsibilities of the Senate. Finally, our Ad Hoc Committees are temporary committees formed to address specific issues or tasks that do not fall under the purview of another standing committee.

Upcoming Meetings

Academic  Senate

04-5-2021

12:10pm to 1pm

Zoom link: cccconfer.zoom.us/j/99028769871?pwd=aWd1WGRtSkl6cmErU3hMemNWaWZ2Zz09

510443

Agenda

Contacts

Dr. Sharyn Eveland

Email | (661)-763-7866 | Lib office 336

Dr. Vicki Jacobi

Email | (661)-763-7719 | Lib office 323

Kelly Kulzer-Reyes

Email | (661)-763-7929 | Bldg. G office 2E

Academic Senate Council Members

Position Name email Phone Office Area
Vice President Dr. Vicki Jacobi vjacobi@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7719 Lib office 323 n/a
Secretary Kelly Kulzer-Reyes KKulzer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7929 Bldg. G office 2E n/a
President Dr. Sharyn Eveland seveland@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7866 Lib office 336 n/a
Past President Geoffrey Dyer GDyer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7724 Bldg. G office 7B n/a
Member Bill Devine bdevine@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7883 Bldg. G office 5B English Language Arts
Member Dr. Amar Abbott aabbott@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7977 Learning Support Division
Member Dr. Greg Golling ggolling@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7932 Bldg. S office 5L Math & Science
Member Dr. Jennifer Altenhofel jaltenhofel@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7728 Social Sciences
Member Dr. Lori Travis ltravis@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7726 Business, Arts, and Humanities
Member Dr. Michael Jiles mjiles@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7717 Bldg. G office 6B CTE Liaison
Member Dr. Reginald Clemons rclemons@taftcollege.edu (661)-763- Adjunct Faculty
Member Kanoe Bandy kbandy@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7779 Gym Allied Health and Applied Technology

Meeting Dates

Academic Senate Council

Monday, August 17, 2020 *10:10 to 11am In-service

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

October 21 2020

November 18 2020

December 16 2020

January 12 2021 In-Service Tuesday 9:10am

February 17 2021

March 17 2021

April 21 2021

May 19 2021

Academic Senate

Fri, August 21, 2020  *11am  to 1 pm for In-service

Monday September 14, 2020

October 5 2020

November 2 2020

December 7 2020

January 15 2021 In-Service Friday 11:10am to 1pm

February 1 2021

March 1 2021

April 5 2021

May 3 2021