Senate Home

Taft College > Faculty & Staff > Academic Senate
Academic Senate Logo

The Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of Taft College represents the faculty of the Taft Community College District. Our primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.

Our purpose is to represent the District’s faculty in negotiations with the Board of Trustees and in the development and implementation of all college-wide policies and procedures of interest and concern to the faculty, to strengthen the role that faculty plays in the governance processes, to participate in the process of developing the educational philosophy along with the objectives, plans, and budgets of the District and to provide a forum for the faculty to discuss, debate, and formulate formal faculty opinions and resolutions both on academic and professional matters and on other issues of concern.

Senate Committees

The Academic Senate has established committees, composed of Taft College faculty, administrators, staff and students. Our operational committees are responsible for performing the academic and professional duties and responsibilities of the Senate. Finally, our Ad Hoc Committees are temporary committees formed to address specific issues or tasks that do not fall under the purview of another standing committee.

Upcoming Meetings

Date: 12-02-2019
Time: 12:00 Noon
Location: Cougar Room

Agenda

Contacts

Dr. Sharyn Eveland

Email | (661)-763-7866 | Lib office 336

Dr. Vicki Jacobi

Email | (661)-763-7719 | Lib office 323

Kelly Kulzer-Reyes

Email | (661)-763-7929 | Bldg. G office 2E

Academic Senate Council Members

Position Name email Phone Office
Vice President Dr. Vicki Jacobi vjacobi@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7719 Lib office 323
Secretary Kelly Kulzer-Reyes KKulzer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7929 Bldg. G office 2E
President Dr. Sharyn Eveland seveland@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7866 Lib office 336
Past President Geoffrey Dyer GDyer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7724 Bldg. G office 7B
Member Bill Devine bdevine@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7883 Bldg. G office 5B
Member Debora Rodenhauser DRodenhauser@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7771 Bldg. T office 6H
Member Dr. Greg Golling ggolling@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7932 Bldg. S office 5L
Member Dr. Michael Jiles mjiles@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7717 Bldg. G office 6B
Member Juana Rangel-Escobedo jescobedo@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7898 Adm. Bldg. office 112
Member Kanoe Bandy kbandy@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7779 Gym
Member Kristi Richards krichards@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7813 Adm. Bldg. office 111
Member Tori Furman TFurman@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7967 Adm. Bldg. office 172

Meeting Dates

Academic Senate Council

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Tuesday, January 14, 2020 *9 to 10am In-service

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Tues, August 18, 2020 *9 to 10am In-service

Academic Senate

Friday, August 23, 2019

Monday, September 09, 2019

Monday, October 07, 2019

Monday, November 04, 2019

Monday, December 02, 2019

Fri, January 17, 2020  *noon to 2 pm for In-service

Monday, February 03, 2020

Monday, March 02, 2020

Monday, March 30, 2020

Monday, May 04, 2020

Fri, August 21, 2020  *noon to 2 pm for In-service