Academic Senate and Council Home

Taft College > Faculty & Staff > Academic Senate
Academic Senate Logo

The Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of Taft College represents the faculty of the Taft Community College District. Our primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.

Our purpose is to represent the District’s faculty in negotiations with the Board of Trustees and in the development and implementation of all college-wide policies and procedures of interest and concern to the faculty, to strengthen the role that faculty plays in the governance processes, to participate in the process of developing the educational philosophy along with the objectives, plans, and budgets of the District and to provide a forum for the faculty to discuss, debate, and formulate formal faculty opinions and resolutions both on academic and professional matters and on other issues of concern.

Senate Subcommittees

The Academic Senate has established subcommittees, composed of Taft College faculty. Some subcommittees include members representing administrators, staff, and students. Our subcommittees are responsible for upholding and performing the academic and professional duties and responsibilities of the Senate. Finally, our Ad Hoc committees are temporary committees formed to address specific issues or tasks that do not fall under the purview of another subcommittee.

Subcommittees of the Academic Senate are: Academic Development (ADC); Academic Policies & Procedures (AP&P); Academic Senate Council (ASC); Career & Technical Education (CTE); Curriculum & General Education (Curr&GE); Distance Learning & Education (DLE);  Dual Enrollment (no abbreviation); Academic Senate Faculty Professional Development Committee (FPD); and Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Steering ((SLOASC).

Go to the committee webpages (button below) for information on the membership and purpose of each committee.

ASCCC - Academic Senate for the California Community Colleges

The ASCCC was formed in 1970, as a 501(c)6 nonprofit organization. Created for the promotion and advancement of public community college education in California, its general purposes are:

  1. To strengthen local academic senates and councils of community colleges;
  2. To serve as the voice of the faculty of the community colleges in matters of statewide concern;
  3. To develop policies and promote the implementation of policies on matters of statewide issues;
  4. To make recommendations on statewide matters affecting the community colleges.

The Academic Senate gets its authority to strengthen local senates on California community colleges statewide from the California Code of Regulations Title 5 Section 53206, which says:

(a) An Academic Senate for the California Community Colleges has been established through ratification by local academic senates or faculty councils so that the community college faculty of California may have a formal and effective procedure for participating in the formation of state policies on academic and professional matters.

(b) The Board of Governors recognizes the Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges as the representative of community college academic senates or faculty councils before the Board of Governors and Chancellor’s Office.

Designated representatives from local Academic Senates form the voting membership of the ASCCC. Members of the Executive Committee are elected from the full ASCCC membership. Subcommittees of the ASCCC consist of  volunteer representatives from local Academic Senates.

Below are links to resources and information from the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC).

Upcoming Meetings

Academic  Senate


Taft College Cougar Room

12:10am to 1pm

Academic  Senate Council


Cafeteria Conference Room

12:10am to 1:00pm



Dr. Sharyn Eveland

Email | (661)-763-7866 | Lib office 336

Dr. Vicki Jacobi

Email | (661)-763-7719 | Lib office 323

Dr. Amar Abbott

Email | (661)-763-7977 | Adm office 131

Academic Senate Council Members

Position Name email Phone Office Area
Vice President Dr. Vicki Jacobi (661)-763-7719 Lib office 323 Learning Support Division
Secretary Dr. Amar Abbott (661)-763-7977 Adm office 131 Learning Support Division
President Dr. Sharyn Eveland (661)-763-7866 Lib office 336 Social & Behavioral Science
Past President Geoffrey Dyer (661)-763-7724 Bldg. G office 7B English Language Arts
Member Candace Duron (661)-763-7934 Learning Support Division
Member Dr. Jennifer Altenhofel (661)-763-7728 Bldg. T office 6F Social & Behavioral Science
Member Dr. Lori Travis (661)-763-7726 Bldg. G office G2a Business, Arts, and Humanities
Member Kanoe Bandy (661)-763-7779 Gym Allied Health and Applied Technology
Member Kelly Kulzer-Reyes (661)-763-7929 English Language Arts
Member Nathan Cahoon (661)-763-7844 Science 5A Math & Science

Meeting Dates

Academic Senate Council

August 15, 2022 10:10 – 11am In-service

Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

Wednesday, November 16, 2022

January 2023 In-service TBD

Wednesday, January 18, 2023

Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Wednesday, March 15, 2023

Wednesday, April 19, 2023

Academic Senate

August 19, 2022 11am – 1pm In-service

Monday, September 12, 2022

Monday, October 3, 2022

Monday, November 7, 2022

Monday, December 5, 2022

January 2023 In-service TBD

Monday, February 6, 2023

Monday, March 6, 2023

Monday, April 10, 2023

Monday, May 1, 2023