Senate Home

Taft College > Faculty & Staff > Academic Senate
Academic Senate Logo

The Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of Taft College represents the faculty of the Taft Community College District. Our primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters.

Our purpose is to represent the District’s faculty in negotiations with the Board of Trustees and in the development and implementation of all college-wide policies and procedures of interest and concern to the faculty, to strengthen the role that faculty plays in the governance processes, to participate in the process of developing the educational philosophy along with the objectives, plans, and budgets of the District and to provide a forum for the faculty to discuss, debate, and formulate formal faculty opinions and resolutions both on academic and professional matters and on other issues of concern.

Senate Standing Committees

The Academic Senate has established standing committees, composed of Taft College faculty. Some standing committees include members representing administrators, staff, and students. Our standing committees are responsible for upholding and performing the academic and professional duties and responsibilities of the Senate. Finally, our Ad Hoc Committees are temporary committees formed to address specific issues or tasks that do not fall under the purview of another standing committee.

Standing Committees of the Academic Senate are: Academic Development (ADC); Academic Policies & Procedures (AP&P); Academic Senate Council (ASC); Career & Technical Education (CTE); Curriculum & General Education (Curr&GE); Distance Learning & Education (DLE);  Dual Enrollment (no abbreviation); Faculty Professional Development (FPD); and Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Steering ((SLOASC).

Go to the committee webpages for information on the membership and purpose of each committee.

Upcoming Meetings

Academic  Senate Council

09-15-2021

Taft College Cougar Room

12:10pm to 1:00pm

 

Academic  Senate

09-13-2021

Taft College Cougar Room

12:10am to 1pm

Agenda

Contacts

Dr. Sharyn Eveland

Email | (661)-763-7866 | Lib office 336

Dr. Vicki Jacobi

Email | (661)-763-7719 | Lib office 323

Dr. Amar Abbott

Email | (661)-763-7977 | Adm office 131

Academic Senate Council Members

Position Name email Phone Office Area
Vice President Dr. Vicki Jacobi vjacobi@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7719 Lib office 323 Learning Support Division
Secretary Dr. Amar Abbott aabbott@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7977 Adm office 131 Learning Support Division
President Dr. Sharyn Eveland seveland@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7866 Lib office 336 Social & Behavioral Science
Past President Geoffrey Dyer GDyer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7724 Bldg. G office 7B English Language Arts
Member Bill Devine bdevine@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7883 Bldg. G office 5B English Language Arts
Member Dr. Greg Golling ggolling@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7932 Bldg. S office 5L Math & Science
Member Dr. Jennifer Altenhofel jaltenhofel@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7728 Bldg. T office 6F Social & Behavioral Science
Member Dr. Lori Travis ltravis@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7726 Bldg. G office G2a Business, Arts, and Humanities
Member Dr. Reginald Clemons rclemons@taftcollege.edu (661)-763- Adjunct Faculty
Member Joe’ll Chaidez jchaidez@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7962 Adm office 172 Learning Support Division
Member Kanoe Bandy kbandy@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7779 Gym Allied Health and Applied Technology

Meeting Dates

Academic Senate Council

Monday, August 16, 2021 *10:10 to 11am In-service

Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Wednesday, December 15, 2021

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Wednesday, April 20, 2022

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Academic Senate

Friday, August 20, 2021  *11am  to 1 pm for In-service

Monday, September 13, 2021

Monday, October 04, 2021

Monday, November 01, 2021

Monday, December 06, 2021

January 14, 2022 In-Service Friday 11:10am to 1pm

Monday, February 07, 2022

Monday, March 07, 2022

Monday, April 04, 2022

Monday, May 02, 2022