Faculty Professional Development Committee

Taft College Committees Sites > Academic Senate Professional Development Committee

PURPOSE

The purpose of the Faculty Professional Development Committee is to plan workshops and activities for faculty to improve their knowledge and skills in order to facilitate individual, school-wide, and district-wide improvements with the goal of increasing student achievement.

SPECIFIC RESPONSIBILITIES

Plan the Fall Inservice Schedule
Plan the Spring Inservice Schedule
Plan the May Inservice Schedule
Communicate other available Faculty Professional Development opportunities
Encourage Faculty attendance at Professional Conferences
Report to the Academic Senate

MEMBERSHIP REPRESENTATION

  • Taft College Full Time Faculty Member – Chair
  • Six (6) Full Time Faculty members
  • VPI or Office of Instruction designee (non-voting)

MEMBERSHIP AND MEETING POLICIES

Quorum is based on 50% + 1 of voting membership.
It is the responsibility of each member of the committee to attend each meeting and adhere to the College Code of Conduct.

MEETING SCHEDULING, AGENDAS, AND MINUTES

The Committee shall meet monthly or as needed to accomplish its goals and responsibilities. The committee will determine the day and time of each meeting. Agendas and minutes will be posted.

Resources:

Established annual budget for professional development activities for the academic year

Office of the Vice President of Instruction assistance as needed

Office of Human Resources assistance as needed

Office of Institutional Research assistance as needed

RELATIONSHIP WITH OTHER COMMITTEES

The Faculty Professional Development Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Senate. The Faculty PDC makes recommendations to the Taft College Academic Senate on policies for faculty professional development activities in alignment with “professional development” as described in BP 2510 and AP 2510.

The Faculty Professional Development Committee may also make recommendations to other committees regarding professional development related issues as needed.

SELF-EVALUATION

The Faculty Professional Development Committee shall:

Review/evaluate their performance at the end of each academic year

Review/evaluate the Committee Charter at the beginning of each academic year

 

Senate approval: 11/02/20

Members

Position Name email
Member Diane Jones djones@taftcollege.edu
Member Dr. Chris Taylor ctaylor@taftcollege.edu
Member Dr. John Eigenauer jeigenauer@taftcollege.edu
Member Julian Martinez jmartinez@taftcollege.edu
Member Leslie Minor lminor@taftcollege.edu
Member Mariza Martinez mmartinez@taftcollege.edu
Member Ruby Payne rpayne@taftcollege.edu
Member Tina Mendoza tmendoza@taftcollege.edu
Member Wendy Berry wberry@taftcollege.edu