Home

Taft College Committees Sites > Distance Education

Distance Learning and Education Committee

PURPOSE:

The purpose of the Distance Learning and Education Committee is to develop policy recommendations and promote practices that contribute to the quality and growth of distance education (DE) at Taft College.

SPECIFIC RESPONSIBILITIES:

  1. Create DE policies/procedures;
  2. Develop DE course evaluation process/criteria;
  3. Evaluation of DE resources;
  4. Stay current on state/federal regulations;
  5. Assist in Program Review;
  6. Determine Best Practices;
  7. Determine Professional Development needs;
  8. Promote the inclusion of accessibility practices within online coursework;
  9. Monitor statewide committees and initiatives related to DE;
  10. Distribute information and make recommendations on current initiatives related to DE; and
  11. Review submitted Distance Learning Approval Forms (addendum to course outline of record) and make recommendation to the Curriculum Committee if course is appropriate for DE.

MEMBERSHIP REPRESENTATION:

In adherence to Standard II-A of the ACCJC Guide to Evaluating Distance Education and Correspondence Education (2013)*, this Committee is an advisory committee made up of faculty and staff personnel who have expertise with distance education.

  • Director, Distance Education – co-chair (non-voting)
  • Faculty – co-chair
  • Distance Learning Coordinator
  • DSPS faculty member
  • Minimum of 3 faculty members
  • Counselor
  • Senior Research Assistant
  • Vice President of Instruction (non-voting)
  • Student Representative appointed by ASO

MEMBERSHIP AND MEETING POLICIES:

  • Quorum is a simple majority of active, assigned members.
  • The Committee shall follow Robert’s Rules of Order.
  • The Committee shall follow the Brown Act.
  • It is the responsibility of each member of the Distance Learning and Education Committee to attend each meeting and adhere to the College Code of Conduct.

MEETING SCHEDULING, AGENDAS, AND MINUTES:

The Committee shall meet at least once a month to accomplish its goals and responsibilities. The Committee will determine the day and time of the monthly meeting. Agendas and minutes will be recorded.

RELATIONSHIP WITH OTHER COMMITTEES:

The Distance Learning and Education Committee is a subcommittee of the Academic Senate. The Distance Learning and Education Committee may also make recommendations to other committees regarding distance education related issues as needed.

SELF-EVALUATION:

The Distance Learning and Education Committee shall:

  • Review/evaluate their performance at the end of each academic year.
  • Review/evaluate the Committee Charter at the beginning of each academic year.
*See pages 10 and 22 of the ACCJC Guide to Evaluating Distance Education and Correspondence Education (2013).

DL&E review: 11/18/19
Senate approved: 11/02/2020


		

Agenda

Date Title
10/11/2021 October 11, 2021
09/20/2021 September 20, 2021
05/10/2021 May 10, 2021
04/12/2021 April 12, 2021
03/08/2021 March 8, 2021

Members

Position Name email Phone Office
Member Candace Duron cduron@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7934
Member Chris Flachmann cflachmann@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7858
Member Dr. Amar Abbott aabbott@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7977
Member Geoffrey Dyer gdyer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7724
Member Jason Page jpage@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7761
Member Joy Reynolds jreynolds@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7971
Member Kelly Kulzer-Reyes kkulzer@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7929
Co-Chair Adam Bledsoe abledsoe@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7781
Co-Chair Dr. Marianne Bishop mbishop@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-0

Minutes and Agenda – 2021

Date Title
10/11/2021 October 11, 2021
09/20/2021 September 20, 2021
05/10/2021 May 10, 2021
04/12/2021 April 12, 2021
03/08/2021 March 8, 2021
02/08/2021 February 8, 2021
01/15/2021 January 15, 2021