SLOASC Home Page

Taft College Committees Sites > Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Steering Committee

Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Steering Committee

The Student Learning Outcomes team assists faculty and staff in the development of student learning outcomes, effective authentic assessment, and analysis of data with thoughtful considered improvements to courses, programs, and services with a culture of evidence and on-going dialogue. The SLO team values the culture of inquiry, integrity of the data, and the academic freedom of faculty to determine the best method for student learning and success. The SLO team houses and coordinates the assessment efforts as described by each unit, division, program, service, and course area.

As a subcommittee of the Academic Senate, the role of the Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) and Assessment Steering Committee (SLOASC) is to act as the central body for articulating polices on SLOs, and targeting SLO assessment activities intended to increase student performance competencies as a result of Taft College’s courses, programs, and degrees, the committee provides support and resources for assessment activities. Specific tasks of the committee include the following:

Membership

Position Name email Phone Office
Secretary Brandy Young byoung@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7944
Member James May jmay@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7735
Member Paul Blake pblake@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7736
Member Terri Smith tsmith@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7817
Member Tina Mendoza tmendoza@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7860
Member Vicki Jacobi vjacobi@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7719
Chair Joe’ll Chaidez jchaidez@taftcollege.edu (661)-763-7962