SLOASC Home Page

Taft College Committees Sites > Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Steering Committee

Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Steering Committee

The Student Learning Outcomes team assists faculty and staff in the development of student learning outcomes, effective authentic assessment, and analysis of data with thoughtful considered improvements to courses, programs, and services with a culture of evidence and on-going dialogue. The SLO team values the culture of inquiry, integrity of the data, and the academic freedom of faculty to determine the best method for student learning and success. The SLO team houses and coordinates the assessment efforts as described by each unit, division, program, service, and course area.

As a subcommittee of the Academic Senate, the role of the Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) and Assessment Steering Committee (SLOASC) is to act as the central body for articulating polices on SLOs, and targeting SLO assessment activities intended to increase student performance competencies as a result of Taft College’s courses, programs, and degrees, the committee provides support and resources for assessment activities.

Agendas & Minutes


Date Title
04/17/2020 April 17, 2020
03/13/2020 March 13, 2020
02/21/2020 February 21, 2020


Position Name email Phone Office
Secretary Brandy Young (661)-763-7944
Member Paul Blake (661)-763-7736
Member Terri Smith (661)-763-7817
Member Tina Mendoza (661)-763-7860
Member Vicki Jacobi (661)-763-7719
Chair Joe’ll Chaidez (661)-763-7962